/New Awards for UK Music

New Awards for UK Music

A new awards ceremony has been created for the UK music industry in order to recognise the work of Indie artists. The awards have been created by The Association of Independent Music (AIM).

The introduction of the awards has been for a controversial reason and music industry experts appear undecided on the introduction of them. AIM have stated that these awards have been introduced due to the current lack of success which independent artists gain at current mainstream awards ceremonies such as the Brit awards.

Categories which will be featured at the new awards ceremony include breakthrough act of the year and also the hardest working band or artist of the year. The latter award will be awarded the artist or band who has performed the most gigs throughout the year.

The awards will begin this year and the first ever ceremony will be held in London on November 10th, it is anticipated that the hosts will be Radio 1 DJ Huw Stephens and radio station 6 Music presenter Steve Lamacq.

Current artists within the UK who are signed to independent record labels within Britain include the Arctic Monkeys, Dizzee Rascal, Example and The XX.

The XX are the current Mercury prize winners and they were also nominated for three categories at the Brit Awards but they failed to be awarded any of them. The Brits they were nominated for included best British album and best British band.

The Chairman for the AIM organisation Alison Wenham stated that these awards had not been introduced due to the Brit awards failing to recognise independent labels and artists. Although she did recognise that the popular awards which are broadcast on television tend to appeal to a certain level of artist, often which overlooks the independents.

She went on to state that the new awards would reflect the diversity and brilliance which is located within the UK music industry. Whilst the awards ceremony will not be as glam as the Brits she stated that it must be all about the music.